DIY Weather Station

After a few snippets Arduino code for the ESP8266, I now have a concrete project that I want to solve with the ESP8266. I like to build a weather station that not simply measures and displays like a traditional weather station, but more like a DIY Netatmo also providing the data via a mobile website.

In order to achieve the readings and a few other parameters I sent them by MQTT to a broker, where they are collected by a small program to display the current values ​​on a Web page and to visualize the time series.

I will distribute some of the stations in the house in order to monitor the equipment room, bedrooms, etc. to be always informed about the important values. The main station will be equipped with DHT22 and BMP280 sensors, the rest only with the DHT22 or other sensors for humidity and temperature. The whole has to be at various points running on battery power, as no mains are immediately everywhere. To operate the station for a while without having to constantly recharge the accumulators, I incorporated my results for a snippet about the deep sleep function of the ESP8266. The battery voltage is sent together with each measurement to the broker and generates from there an event via the Maker Channel of IFTTT when a threshold is reached. As battery a LiIon cell of Type 18650 is used, enabling an operating time of more than a week at 4 measurements per hour. So the station is on for just about 30 seconds (I added a break in the code so that the ESP8266 is long enough for a firmware update) with a cycle length of 15 minutes.

To get a high WAF for the device, (WAF is an acronym designed by the German computer magazine “ct”. It can be translated by Women Acceptance Factor) a housing was designed on tinkercad.com, it consists of three parts. The first part considers the whole electronics and the battery. The second part represents the bottom plate where the battery sits and also closes the battery bay. It is a bit larger in diameter, so that the cylinder which closes the whole has a stop when it is slipped over the inner structure.

Visualization of MQTT data

Code & 3D-Dateien

Pictures

This website uses cookies for visitor traffic analysis. By using the website, you agree with storing the cookies on your computer.More information

DIY Wetterstation

Nach ein paar ESP8266 snippets, nun mal ein konkretes Projekt, das ich mit dem ESP8266 lösen will. Es soll eine Wetterstation entstehen, die abweichend von einer klassischen Wetterstation nicht einfach nur misst und anzeigt, sondern eher wie ein DIY Netatmo die Daten per Webseite auch mobil bereitstellt.

Um das zu erreichen werden die Messwerte und ein paar weitere Parameter per MQTT an einen Broker geschickt, wo sie dann von einem kleinen Programm eingesammelt werden, um die aktuellen Werte auf einer Webseite anzuzeigen und den zeitlichen Verlauf zu visualisieren.

Ich werden ein paar von den Stationen im Haus verteilen, um auch im Technikraum, Schlafzimmern usw. über die mir wichtigen Werte immer informiert zu sein. Die Hauptstation wird mit DHT22 und BMP280 versehen sein, die restlichen nur mit dem DHT22 oder anderen Sensoren für Luftfeuchtigkeit und Temperatur. Das ganze muss an verschiedenen Stellen mit einem Akku betrieben werden, da nicht überall unmittelbar Strom liegt. Damit ich die Station eine Weile betreiben kann ohne ständig laden zu gehen, hab ich die Erkenntnisse aus meinem snippet zum Deep-Sleep einfließen zu lassen. Die Akkuspannung wird bei jedem Messdurchgang mit an den Broker geschickt und von da aus ein Event über den Maker Channel von IFTTT generiert, wenn ein Schwellwert unterschritten wird. Als Akku wird eine LiIon-Zelle vom Type 18650 verwendet was eine Betriebszeit von über einer Woche bei 4 Messungen pro Stunde ermöglicht. So ist die Station gerade mal was über 30 Sekunden an (ich hab einen Pause mit im Code eingebaut damit der ESP8266 lang genug an ist um ein Firmware Update durchzuführen) bei einer Zykluslänge von 15 Minuten.

Damit das ganze einen hohen WAF hat, (For all who send my page though google-translate WAF is an acronym designed by the german magazine computer ct. It can be translated by Women Acceptance Factor) wurde ein Gehäuse auf tinkercad.com designed, der aus drei Teilen besteht. Das erste Teil hält die ganze Elektronik und den Akku. Das zweite Teil stellt die Bodenplatte dar, die auch den Schacht in dem der Akku sitzt verschließt und ein bisschen größer im Durchmesser ist, so das der Zylinder, der das ganze verschließt einen Anschlag erhält bis zu dem er über die innere Struktur gestülpt werden kann.

Visualisierung der MQTT Daten

Code & 3D-Dateien

Bilder

Cookies helfen bei der Bereitstellung von Inhalten. Durch die Nutzung dieser Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass Cookies auf Ihrem Rechner gespeichert werden. Weitere Information