Tiny Whoop

The small Inductrix of Horizon makes so fun and can be flown with such precision that I modified it to a Tiny Whoop. And so I now have a indoor FPV copter.

The conversion is actually trivial. The standard Inductrix is ​​easily overwhelmed with the additional weight of the camera. Therefore it is recommended to replace the motors against stronger. The Micro Motor Warehouse has in its EU warehouse two suitable candidates, the Medium and Fast motors. I've decided for the medium. Changing the engines is very easy thanks plugged motor cable. With a curved forceps pull the rotors off And then carefully remove the motors, use your fingernails to push them from the bottom, and then gently pull from the top. Push in the new ones and attach rotor - done. Engines with white / black wires are CCW and the blue / red CW rotation. I get rid of the camera body and the plug to reduce the weight. Then it stick with a narrow strip of double tape to the front plate of the camera onto the duct of the Inductrix so that a small angle gives the result that the camera is straight during the flight - at least almost, if you are slow ;-). The double tape is also the isolation between the camera and board. In addition, the camera is secured even with two small rubber bands. I robber it from my daughter, they are actually meant to make bracelets. The power cable of the camera is cut as short as possible and soldered to the board at the battery connector.

At the same time I try to use my smartphone and Android tablet as FPV Monitor and Recorder. It's pretty good and latency is okay for my flight style - slow. Big advantage is you have the videos directly on the phone.

The batteries are charged with my Tiny Whoop 2- or 3-port Charger.

To make the frame more rigid or to repair a broken frame, I created a 3d printed frame enforcement.

Clone

The popularity of Tiny Whoops seams to boost the Inductrix, so that the NIHUI NH010/Eachine E010 appears to be the first clone. I'm curious what come next developed and whether the NIHUI has the potential for mods.

Photos

Video

First attempt to record the camera image from Tiny Whoop with my smartphone. Also fpv flying with the smartphone image worked. Unfortunately, had quite a strong interference on the first floor. Let's see why.

Material

Tiny Whoop

Smartphone FPV

Tiny Whoop Motoren

On rcgroups is a very interesting thread about the Tiny Whoop, there was a post about the specifications of the Tiny Whoops motors.

Chaoli CL-0615-xx

  • Speed:
    • xx=11 11000Kv 40700RPM@3.7V aka=“medium”
    • xx=14 14300Kv 53000RPM@3.7V aka=“fast”
    • xx=14 14850Kv 55000RPM@3.7V aka=“fast”
    • xx=15 15100Kv 56000RPM@3.7V aka=“ultra-fast”
    • xx=16 16200Kv 60000RPM@3.7V aka=“insane”
    • xx=17 17500Kv 65000RPM@3.7V aka=“insane”
  • Voltage: 1.5-3.7V
  • Load Current @3.7V direct drive: 11Kv=0.8A 14Kv=1.0A
  • Thrust 11Kv=11.8g 14Kv=15g
  • Lifetime Rating: 5-6 hours
  • Housing Size: 15.0x6.0mm
  • Shaft Size: 5.0x0.8mm
  • Weight 1.95g
  • Wire Coding: CW=red+, blue- CCW=white+ black-
  • Wire Length=70.0mm
  • Connector=Micro-JST/Molex Picoblade 1.25mm pins
  • Motor Positions: CW=RF & LR CCW=LF & RR*
This website uses cookies for visitor traffic analysis. By using the website, you agree with storing the cookies on your computer.More information

Tiny Whoop

Der kleine Inductrix von Horizon macht so Spass und lässt sich so präzise fliegen, dass ich einen Umbau auf einen Tiny Whoop gewagt habe. Und so jetzt auch Indoor relativ sicher FPV fliegen kann.

Der Umbau ist eigentlich trivial. Der Standard Inductrix ist leicht überfordert mit dem Zusatzgewicht der Kamera. Deshalb ist es empfehlenswert, die Motoren gegen stärkere zu tauschen. Das Micro Motor Warehouse hat in seinem Eu-Warehouse zwei passende Kandidaten, die Medium und Fast Motoren. Ich hab mich für die Medium entschieden. Wechsle der Motoren geht dank gesteckter Motorkabel sehr einfach. Mit einer gebogenen Pinzette die Rotoren abziehen und dann erst vorsichtig die Motoren von der Unterseite mit den Fingernägeln raus schieben und dann von oben vorsichtig ziehen. Die neuen Motoren einschieben, anstecken Rotor aufstecken - fertig. Die Motoren mit weiss/schwarzen Kabel sind CCW und die Blau/roten CW drehend. Die Kamera wurde zuerst mal ihrem Gehäuse entledigt um nicht unnötig Gewicht mit zu schleppen. Danach wird sie mit einem schmalen Streifen Doppeltape so montiert das die vordere Platine der Kamera auf den Düsen liegt und so ein kleiner Winkel entsteht der dazu führt, dass die Kamera beim Geradeausflug wieder gerade steht - jedenfalls fast, also wenn man langsam ist ;-). Das Doppeltape ist gleichzeitig Isolation zwischen Kamera und Platine. Zusätzlich wird die Kamera noch mit zwei kleinen Gummis gesichert. Die Gummis hab ich meiner Tochter gemopst, sind eigentlich dazu gedacht Armbänder zu machen. Das Stromkabel der Kamera wird so kurz wie möglich abgeschnitten und an der Platine am Akkuanschluss befestigt.

Parallel dazu versuche ich mich auch daran mein Smartphone und Android Tablet mal als FPV Monitor und Recorder zu verwenden. Das geht relativ gut und ist von der Latenz her für meinen Flugstil (langsam) noch erträglich gut. Riesen Vorteil ist halt, man hat die Videos direkt auf dem Handy.

Die Akkus werden mit meinem Tiny Whoop 2- oder 3-port Charger geladen.

Um den Rahmen stabiler zu machen oder einen gebrochenen Rahmen zu reparieren, habe ich eine 3D gedruckte Rahmenverstärkung gezeichnet.

Clone

Die Beliebtheit der Tiny Whoops gibt dem Inductrix so viel Aufschwung, dass mit dem NIHUI NH010/Eachine E010 der erste Clone auftaucht. Ich bin mal gespannt was sich daraus noch entwickelt und ob der potential zum Moden hat.

Bilder

Video

Erster Versuch das Kamerabild vom Tiny Whoop mit meinem Smartphone aufzunehmen. Auch das Fliegen nach dem Bild hat geklappt. Nur leider ziemlich starke Störungen im ersten Stock gehabt. Mal sehen woran das liegt.

Material

Tiny Whoop

Smartphone FPV

Tiny Whoop Motoren

Auf rcgroups gibt es einen sehr interessanten Thread zum Tiny Whoop, darin wurde auch diese Aufstellung der technischen Daten, der Motoren gepostet.

Chaoli CL-0615-xx

  • Speed:
    • xx=11 11000Kv 40700RPM@3.7V aka=„medium“
    • xx=14 14300Kv 53000RPM@3.7V aka=„fast“
    • xx=14 14850Kv 55000RPM@3.7V aka=„fast“
    • xx=15 15100Kv 56000RPM@3.7V aka=„ultra-fast“
    • xx=16 16200Kv 60000RPM@3.7V aka=„insane“
    • xx=17 17500Kv 65000RPM@3.7V aka=„insane“
  • Voltage: 1.5-3.7V
  • Load Current @3.7V direct drive: 11Kv=0.8A 14Kv=1.0A
  • Thrust 11Kv=11.8g 14Kv=15g
  • Lifetime Rating: 5-6 hours
  • Housing Size: 15.0x6.0mm
  • Shaft Size: 5.0x0.8mm
  • Weight 1.95g
  • Wire Coding: CW=red+, blue- CCW=white+ black-
  • Wire Length=70.0mm
  • Connector=Micro-JST/Molex Picoblade 1.25mm pins
  • Motor Positions: CW=RF & LR CCW=LF & RR*
Cookies helfen bei der Bereitstellung von Inhalten. Durch die Nutzung dieser Seiten erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass Cookies auf Ihrem Rechner gespeichert werden. Weitere Information